+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Fragments - Toni Jordan

Paperback Published: 29th October 2018
ISBN: 9781925773132
Number Of Pages: 336

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $29.99
$23.75
21%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Inga Karlson died in a fire in New York in the 1930s, leaving behind three things- a phenomenally successful first novel, the scorched fragments of a second book-and a literary mystery that has captivated generations of readers.Nearly fifty years later, Brisbane bookseller Caddie Walker is waiting in line to see a Karlson exhibition featuring the famous fragments when she meets a charismatic older woman. The woman quotes a phrase from the Karlson fragments that Caddie knows does not exist-and yet to Caddie, who knows Inga Karlson?s work like she knows her name, it feels genuine.Caddie is electrified. Jolted her from her sleepy, no-worries life in torpid 1980s Brisbane she is driven to investigate- to find the clues that will unlock the greatest literary mystery of the twentieth century.

WRITE A REVIEW

More Toni Jordan magic

5

The Fragments is the fifth novel by award-winning Australian author, Toni Jordan. For most of her life, Caddie Wilson has been enthralled by the story of her favourite author. In New York in 1935, Inga Karlson's first novel was published and became a world-wide best-seller. Hounded by an adoring public, she withdrew into seclusion to write, but in 1939 every copy of The Days, the Minutes, her second novel, was destroyed in the warehouse fire that took her life and that of her publisher, the only people who had ever read it. Scorched fragments were all that remained. In the first months of 1986 those Fragments are on display at Brisbane's new State Gallery, and Caddie is waiting in a lengthy queue to see them. She knows each of them by heart, having read all there is to know about her idol. But she is stunned when another visitor to the exhibition quotes the words on a particular fragment with an extra line. It absolutely fits, but how could that be? Almost fifty years earlier and quite by chance, nineteen-year-old waitress Rachel Lehrer meets the author of one of the few books she has loved enough to own, All Has an End. Incognito, Inga Karlson trails about New York City trying to escape the pressure from her publisher to meet the deadline for her second novel. An unlikely friendship between a farm girl and a Pulitzer prize-winner ensues. The two narratives alternate between chapters, so Caddie's efforts to discover the truth about the fire, the lost manuscript and that inexplicable extra line, run in tandem with the events that find rural Rachel in New York with Inga. With N@zi sympathisers, imposters, covert surveillance of a post office, and a posthumous letter, this is a gripping historical mystery with quite a few twists and red herrings to keep the reader guessing until the final pages. Jordan's depiction of the mid-eighties Brisbane summer is absolutely spot-on: not just the weather, the clothing, the food and drink, but also the social attitudes, the p

Thirroul

true

The Fragments

5.0 1

100.0

`I so loved The Fragments by the amazing Toni Jordan. A thrilling, atmospheric, unforgettable story. I didn't want it to end.' * Liane Moriarty *
`Jordan constructs a satisfying mystery, with rival conspiracy theories, plots, betrayal, clues and red herrings enough confuse readers in their attempts to solve it - perfect for fans of Dominic Smith's The Last Painting of Sara de Vos and Heather Rose's The Museum of Modern Love.' * Kill Your Darlings *
`It's a treat to step back into 1980s-era Australia with [Jordan].' * Books + Publishing *
`A gripping historical mystery with quite a few twists and red herrings to keep the reader guessing...Once again, Jordan shows she is a very talented author, with more than one string to her bow.' * BookMooch *
`A wonderful, witty treat of a novel: cutting and clever, and yet so very romantic.' * Liane Moriarty on Our Tiny, Useless Hearts *
`Laugh-out-loud funny, yet with real emotion at its core, this is a sexy-smart rom-com about love and marriage...I loved it.' * Australian Women's Weekly on Our Tiny, Useless Hearts *
`This novel is a triumph. Another signal career in Australian fiction is well under way.' * Australian on Nine Days *
`A brilliant piece of writing...compelling, engaging and will bring tears to the eyes' * Sunday Star Times on Nine Days *

ISBN: 9781925773132
ISBN-10: 1925773132
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 336
Published: 29th October 2018
Publisher: Text Publishing Co
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 24.0 x 15.1  x 2.3
Weight (kg): 0.41

This product is categorised by